NBSB Membership Roster November 2022

Voting Members

Chair, Prabhavathi Fernandes, PhD, FIDSA

Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Executive, Chair of GARDP Scientific Advisory Board and Board Members for OpGen, Ocugen, and Aelin Therapeutics Chapel Hill, NC

Carl R. Baum, MD, FAAP, FACMT

Professor of Pediatrics and Emergency Medicine Yale University School of Medicine and Toxicology Consultant, Connecticut Poison Control Center New Haven, CT

John G. Benitez, MD, MPH

Medical Director, Tennessee Department of Health, Emergency Preparedness Program Nashville, TN

H. Dele Davies, MD, MSc, MHCM

Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean for Graduate Studies and Professor of Pediatrics and Epidemiology, University of Nebraska Medical Center Omaha, NE

David W. Gruber, MA

Associate Commissioner for Regional and Local Health Operations, Texas Department of State Health Services Austin, TX

Laura H. Kahn, MD, MPH, MPP, FACP

Co-Founder, One Health Initiative and Board Member of the American Veterinary Epidemiology Society New York, NY

Craig M. Klugman, PhD

St. Vincent de Paul Professor, Department of Health Sciences, DePaul University Chicago, IL

Elizabeth Leffel, PhD, MPH

President, Leffel Consulting Group, LLC Eagle Rock, VA

Joelle N. Simpson, MD, MPH

Chief of Emergency Medicine and Medical Director for Emergency Preparedness, Children's National Hospital, and Associate Professor of Pediatrics & Emergency Medicine, George Washington University School of Medicine & Health Sciences Washington, DC

Tammy Spain, PhD, PMP

Senior Project Manager, The FlexPro Group/Network Partners, and CMC Project Manager for Drug Development, Paragon Bioteck, Inc. Fruitland Park, FL

Alan M. Tennenberg, MD, MPH

Chief Medical Officer, Global Public Health, Johnson & Johnson New Brunswick, NJ

Mahmood (Mike) Usman, MD, MMM, MPH

Medical Director, Beacon Health Options of Pennsylvania Cranberry Township, PA

David J. Witt, MD, FIDSA, CIC (retired)

COVID-19 response consultant for Marin County, CA Oakland, CA

Ex Officio Members

Executive Office of the President

Thomas (Greg) McKelvey, Jr., MD, MPH Assistant Director for Biosecurity, National Security Division, White House Executive Office of the President Washington, DC

Intelligence Community

Kelly B. Chafin Office of the Director of National Intelligence Washington, DC

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

JD Polk, DO, MS, MMM, CPE, FACOEP Chief Health and Medical Officer Office of the Chief Health and Medical Officer Washington, DC

National Science Foundation

Mamadou Diallo, PhD, MS

Director of the Environmental Engineering Program, Division of Chemical, Bioengineering, Environmental, and Transport Systems, Directorate for Engineering Alexandria, VA

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Jack Shere, DVM, PhD Associate Administrator Animal & Plant Health Inspection Service Greenbelt, MD

U.S. Department of Commerce

Dianne L. Poster, PhD Special Assistant & Associate Director for Laboratory Programs Office of the Director, National Institute of Standards and Technology Gaithersburg, MD

U.S. Department of Defense

Kevin Wingerd, PhD

Acting Director for Research, Development, and Acquisition, Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Chemical and Biological Defense Washington, D.C

U.S. Department of Energy

Isaf Al-Nabulsi, PhD

Senior Technical Advisor & Japan Program Manager Office of Health and Safety, Office of Environment, Health, Safety and Security **Washington, DC**

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Joanne Andreadis, PhD

Associate Director for Science Center for Preparedness and Response Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Atlanta, GA

National Institutes of Health

Hugh Auchincloss, MD

Principal Deputy Director National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health Bethesda, MD

Administration for Strategic Preparedness and Response (ASPR)

D. Christian Hassel, PhD ASPR Senior Science Advisor Washington, DC

HHS Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health RADM Paul Reed, MD, USPHS

Deputy Assistant Secretary for Health Director of the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Washington, DC

Food and Drug Administration

Brooke Courtney, JD, MPH

Senior Regulatory Counsel Office of Counterterrorism and Emerging Threats, Office of the Commissioner Silver Spring, MD

U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Herbert O. Wolfe, PhD, MS

Deputy Assistant Secretary for Health & Deputy Senior Medical Advisor Office of Countering Weapons of Mass Destruction Washington, DC

U.S. Department of the Interior

M. Camille Hopkins, DVM, MS, PhD Wildlife Disease Coordinator U.S. Geological Survey Ecosystems Mission Area Reston, VA

ASPR Staff Points of Contact

CAPT Christopher L. Perdue, MD, MPH, USPHS

Designated Federal Official Office of Strategy, Policy, Planning, & Requirements Washington, DC

LCDR Cliffon Smith, MPH, USPHS

Executive Secretary Office of Strategy, Policy, Planning, & Requirements Washington, DC

U.S. Department of Justice

Rosemary Hart, JD Special Counsel Office of Legal Counsel Washington, DC

U.S. Department of State

James Levy Deputy Assistant Secretary (acting) Bureau of Oceans, Environmental Affairs & Science Washington, DC

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Patricia A. Milligan, RPh, CHP Senior Advisor for Emergency Preparedness U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission North Bethesda, MD

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs vacant

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Gregory Sayles, PhD, MS Director National Homeland Security Research Center Washington, DC

www.phe.gov/NBSB NBSB@hhs.gov

Attendance shortcuts

Prabhavathi Fernandes, PhD, FIDSA, NBSB Chair Carl R. Baum, MD, FAAP, FACMT John G. Benitez, MD, MPH H. Dele Davies, MD, MSc, MHCM, RnR Co-chair David W. Gruber, MA Laura H. Kahn, MD, MPH, MPP, FACP Craig M. Klugman, PhD Elizabeth Leffel, PhD, MPH, COR Co-Chair Joelle N. Simpson, MD, MPH Tammy Spain, PhD, PMP Alan M. Tennenberg, MD, MPH, RnR Co-Chair Mahmood "Mike" Usman, MD, MMM, MPH David J. Witt, MD, FIDSA, CIC (retired), RnR Co-chair Thomas (Greg) McKelvey, Jr., MD, MPH, White House Kelly B. Chafin, Office of the Director of National Intelligence JD Polk, DO, MS, MMM, CPE, FACOEP, NASA Marc Shepanek, PhD, NASA Mamadou Diallo, PhD, MS, National Science Foundation Jack Shere, DVM, PhD, USDA Dianne L. Poster, PhD, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Kevin Wingerd, PhD, Department of Defense AC Camacho, Department of Defense Lisa Edwards, Department of Defense Isaf Al-Nabulsi, PhD, Department of Energy Joanne Andreadis, PhD, CDC Hugh Auchincloss, MD, NIH Chris Hassell, PhD, ASPR RADM Paul Reed, MD, USPHS, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health Brooke Courtney, JD, MPH, FDA Herbert O. Wolfe, PhD, MS, Department of Homeland Security M. Camille Hopkins, DVM, MS, PhD, US Geological Survey Rosemary Hart, JD, Department of Justice James Levy, Department of State Patricia A. Milligan, RPh, CHP, Nuclear Regulatory Commission - . Department of Veterans Affairs Gregory Sayles, PhD, MS, Environmental Protection

Agency