National Biodefense Science Board (NBSB) Public Meeting Briefing

June 10-11, 2019, Washington, DC

NBSB Recommendations for the National Biodefense Strategy

High-Priority Criteria

- 1. Time to successful completion: the time required to complete implementation of target goals or objectives for the NBS.
- 2. Time to demonstrated engagement of communities: time required to achieve targeted engagement at all levels of SLTT governmental and relevant community stakeholders.
- 3. Impact of implementation: magnitude and duration of effect on health (human, animal, and environmental/ecosystem).
- 4. Resource needs: availability of government and non-government resources such as people, budget, equipment, and materials.

The board recognizes that other criteria may be needed or more appropriate for specific programs goals; and further recommends that HHS develop subsequent milestones, metrics, and end states. After some discussion, the quorum of board members present voted unanimously to support the recommendations.

Meeting Details

The NBSB held a public meeting in Washington, DC on June 10-11, 2019 to consider a number of matters, including topics assigned to the two active working groups – the All Hazards Science Response Working Group (AHWG) and the Disaster Medicine Working Group (DMWG) – and receive updates on recent advancements in several of ASPR's programs and activities.

Attendees

Members who participated included: Chair Prabhavathi Fernandes, PhD; Carl Baum, MD; John Benitez, MD, MPH; Virginia A. Caine, MD; Mark Cicero, MD; H. Dele Davies, MD, MSc, MHCM; Donald G. Heppner, MD; Noreen A. Hynes, MD, MPH; Elizabeth Leffel, PhD, MPH; David Schonfeld, MD; Joelle N. Simpson, MD, MPH; Catherine Slemp, MD, MPH; and Tammy Spain, PhD.

Also in attendance at various times were *ex officio* representatives from ASPR, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the National Aeronautic and Space Administration NASA, the Environmental Protection Agency, the Food and Drug Administration, and Dr. Sally Phillips, Deputy Assistant Secretary and Director of the Office of Strategy, Policy, Planning, and Requirements in ASPR.