Sign In
Search Icon
Menu Icon


Requirements for Joining the Expanded COVID-19 Vaccine Workforce

The expanded COVID-19 vaccine workforce includes currently licensed/certified health professionals, health professionals who are previously active or recently retired, and healthcare students.

To find out if you are eligible to become part of the expanded vaccine workforce and support your community’s vaccination efforts, contact your state or territory’s Emergency System for Advance Registration of Volunteer Health Professionals (ESAR-VHP) program.


Health Professionals (Current and Previously Active within the Last 5 Years)

  • Dentists
  • Emergency medical technicians
      (advanced or intermediate EMTs)
  • Midwives
  • Nurses
       Advanced practice registered nurses (APRN)
       Registered nurses (RN)
       Licensed practical nurses (LPN)
  • Optometrists
  • Paramedics
  • Pharmacists, pharmacy interns,
      and pharmacy technicians
  • Physicians
  • Physician assistants
  • Podiatrists
  • Respiratory therapists
  • Veterinarians
  • Feature

    Healthcare Students

  • Dental
  • Emergency medical technicians
      (advanced or intermediate EMTs)
  • Midwifery
  • Nursing
  • Optometry
  • Paramedic
  • Pharmacists, pharmacy intern
  • Physician assistant
  • Podiatry
  • Respiratory therapy
  • Veterinary
  • Feature 

    Other Qualified Persons

  • Licensed health professional or other individuals authorized under the law of the state
  • Any persons authorized in accordance with the public health and medical emergency response of
         U.S. State, Local, Tribal, and Territorial government entities (SLTTs)
  • Any healthcare professional or other individuals licensed or certified in another state
  • Federal responders, including uniformed services or federal government employee, contractor, or volunteer